Winter Photo Exploration

When we got a snow storm a week or so ago I wanted to go out and photograph some snowy scenes but I never got around to it before it melted. Crazy Indiana weather I swear! Well we just got some more a couple of days ago and I had the day off so I decided I was going to go out and explore and take my camera with me. I decided to pick up my mom too to come along. She loves taking pictures too and loves exploring. We also have a great time together and it had been a while since the last Peggy & Stan adventure. We came up with those nicknames last year during another adventure and they have just kind of stuck. Peggy (my mom whose real name is Ellie) is the tub adventurous type in her midlife crisis who wants to love life to the fullest and never says no to something fun. She also has crazy ideas. Stan, (me whose real name is Madison) is the fuddy duddy bump on a log type who puts up with Peggy and her crazy schemes. Stan also likes to feel he keeps Peggy grounded and from going too crazy and often says no way are we doing that. Peggy gets Stan out of his comfort zone. It’s a great friendship. Yes we even came up with back stories for our alter egos. Don’t judge. There was a lot of laughing and mom even had to pull over because we were laughing so hard during the creation of our back stories.

Onto the adventure…

image

It wasn’t all that cold actually and we were dressed for it. We went to potato creek state park to drive around and walk some trails and see what kind of snowy scene we could capture. I didn’t really have anything set in my mind I wanted to capture other than the neat hazyness that was in the distance of mostly everything. We saw several cool trees, lots of birds, and some new grenery starting to poke it’s way through . We walked 3 different trails ending with the friends of the wetlands trail which was supposed to be just this easy 3 quarter mile trail that was anything but. It was so mucky and wet. It definitely was by the wetlands. Not much to see on this trail but lots of struggle. I was waiting on the muck to keep my boot which is not water resistant to that level. We did see a beaver dam and that was kind of cool.

image

It doesn’t look like much but that is the beaver dam.
I don’t know if it was because it was the last trail we walked in but I was so over the adventure at this point. I was hungry, sore from all the other walking, and my feet were soaked and I was so ready to be done with that trail.

My favorite trail was trail 4. There was a lot to see a lot of neat spots that were very scenic. I can’t wait to go back this spring. We were passed twice by the same runner who was a lot more fit than us that’s for sure. We thought we were lost then we found our way back to the beginning of the trail. There was this amazing tree that was 7 different trees that grew together. I wish I had a wide angle lens to properly capture this tree but it was amazing!

image

We did the little nature center trail that was a little more difficult terrain than the easy as it was called in the map. Maybe it was the snow or the fact that we never hike trails but we feel that the difficult level really needs re evaluated! It didn’t offer a while lot picture wise but was still a pretty little spot.

I’ll leave you with some photographs to enjoy!

image

image

image

image

Mom thought the red branches complimented her glasses

image

image

Leave a Reply

