Easter Left Over Dinner

In our family, most like others, we eat ham for Easter dinner but we rarely eat the whole thing and you can’t really find small hams that are not the mechanically processed ham loaf junk. It is just the two of us so we usually have  quite a bit left over. We use it for breakfast mostly but one thing I love doing with it is cheesy ham and potatoes. It’s such a good comfort food meal and not really all that healthy but in a you really don’t care kind of way. It’s velvita cheese, ham, and potatoes what’s not to love?

This meal does require a little bit of prep work so usually I prepare it for a day off then let it cook in the crock pot all day and can go about other things on my day off: tv watching, mild house cleaning, snuggles with Dave  & Hawk, etc. The last thing I want to do is slave over the stove. I make this in the crock put but it can be done in the oven as well and doesn’t take quite as long. It’s really simple. Slice or dice about 8 potatoes for a large crock worth. I usually slice them about a quarter inch thick. This time I diced them in bite sized pieces and it took a lot less chopping time. It’s really your preference. Chop or shred your ham and dice up a block of velvita. I usually use a little over half the block but you can vary it based on how cheesy you want your potatoes. Layer your ingredients in your crock: Potatoes: Ham: Cheese sprinkle with pepper if desired. I usually get about 3 layers in but again the great thing about this recipe is you can alter it to your taste buds. Always end with a layer of potato and then some more cheese on top. Fill the crock just under your last potato layer with milk. Once the lower cheese melts and potatoes soften the rest of it will settle down into the milk, too much and you will be left with curdled soup and risk overflow. Not enough and the potatoes won’t cook right  and the whole thing will be very dry.
image

I have had a little varying results every time I make this because I always experiment with it. I like mine with  lots of black pepper but that’s about all the seasoning I do to it! Cook on low for 7 hours or high for about 4 hours. It’s done with the cheese is melted and the potatoes are fork soft.
image I cooked it a little too high this time and it cuddled a little so it’s not the most appealing looking but still tastes pretty good!

I hope you enjoy making this! I make it a few times a year, not just after Easter and i just buy the large diced ham chunks sold in the meat department with the lunch meat and other packaged meat and it works just fine too. Some people have done it with smoked sausage too but we aren’t big fans here. Let me know how it worked for you in the comments!

 

Until next time!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

